Syllabus of Political Science SESSION - 2011-12

B. A. I

Paper I

POLITICAL THEORY

M.M.: 100

Unit I

Definition, Nature and Scope of Political Science; Relation with other Social Science; Methods of Study; Approaches to the study of Political Science : The Behavioural Approach.

Unit II

The State – Its nature, origin and ends. Theories of State action; Concept of Welfare State; Concepts of Justice, Liberty and Equality.

Unit III

Concepts of Sovereignty and Law; Democracy and Dictatorship; Parliamentary, Presidential and Plural types; Unitary and Federal forms of Government.

Unit IV

Public opinion; Political Parties; Pressure Groups; Electoral Systems; Secularism.

Paper II

NATIONAL MOVEMNT and CONSTITUTION OF INDIA

M.M.: 100

Unit I

The birth and growth of Nationalism in India. The Indian National Congress; The Moderates and the Extremists; Landmarks of Indian National Movement: Non-Cooperation, Civil Disobedience and Quit India Movements; The Independence Act 1947.

Unit II

The making of the Indian Constitution; Salient Features of the Constitution; Fundamental Rights and Duties; Directive Principles of State Policy; Indian Federal System; Centre-State Relations.

Unit III

The Union Government; The President; The Prime Minister; The Council of Ministers; The Parliament; The Supreme Court.

Unit IV

State Government; The Legislature; The Executive; The High Court; Panchayati Raj System in India.